Déconfinement : the list of the countries where we will soon be able to travel

Déconfinement : the list of the countries where we will soon be able to travel

International tourism

June 15 marks the date of the déconfinement at the european level. After nearly three months of confinement in their respective countries, Europeans will finally be able to go abroad for their summer holidays as early as Monday. A date highly anticipated by the actors in the tourism sector.

The epidemic of coronavirus is globally in sharp decline on the european scale and some countries have not hesitated to re-open their borders to accommodate travellers and boost the tourism. Italy has reopened its borders on 3 June, Austria, Croatia, Serbia and the baltic countries have also.

For a déconfinement progressive, many countries apply the “strategy onion”, which is to reopen its borders to neighbouring countries and then to broaden the scope of movement. This is what France is doing, that it will enter the european tourists as early as 15 June. The opening of the external borders to the Schengen area should be done from the 1st of July.

The country, which re-opened Monday, June 15,

With France, many countries in Europe will also re-establish the free movement with most of the countries of the Schengen area on Monday, June 15. Germany, Switzerland and the Belgium will put an end to the controls, also on Monday.

Some states, including the netherlands, Hungary, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia and Poland, a country little affected by the pandemic, will re-open also June 15, but will impose restrictions to some countries where the infection rate is considered still too high. Therefore, it is best to ask before you get there.

Greece, which depends heavily on tourism, will re-open also on 15 June in some countries of Europe but also to countries outside the Schengen area, such as Australia, China or even Japan.

Countries imposing restrictions

The United Kingdom is one of the countries most affected by the pandemic. In addition, it is no longer part of the Schengen area. In regard to its borders, the country imposes a quatorzaine compulsory for all travellers from abroad since 8 June.

On the side of Portugal, who was confined very soon, the reopening is done gradually and earlier than expected. If there is no exact date of opening, people with a residence in the country may go there. A temperature control will be done at their arrival. France keeps traffic restrictions at its border with Spain at least until the 21st of June said Christophe Castaner.

Ireland, Slovenia, Iceland and Romania also impose quatorzaines in self-confinement of travellers wanting to get there. The Finnish border is still closed.

As to the Northern Europethe countries have established strict rules. Denmark is no exception to the date of June 15, however, the country reopened only to German nationals, Norwegian, and icelandic. Other european countries can expect to get there only from the end of the summer. Norway and Finland re-opened their borders in the nordic and baltic countries except Sweden.